Wednesday, December 7, 2005

Abraham Maslow's Law About Needs

Maslow HierarchyThere is so many reasons in life about why people do something. People do work, do school, because they have needs. Each people have their own motivation, from covering daily basic needs (foot, water, etc), freedom, power, sex, and the self-actualization. I remember about Abraham Maslow with his theory. I quoted some from another website.

Abraham Maslow developed the Hierarchy of Needs model in 1940-50's USA, and the Hierarchy of Needs theory remains valid today for understanding human motivation, management training, and personal development. Indeed, Maslow's ideas surrounding the Hierarchy of Needs concerning the responsibility of employers to provide a workplace environment that encourages and enables employees to fulfil their own unique potential (self-actualization) are today more relevant than ever. Abraham Maslow's book Motivation and Personality, published in 1954 (second edition 1970) introduced the Hierarchy of Needs, and Maslow extended his ideas in other work, notably his later book Toward A Psychology Of Being, a significant and relevant commentary, which has been revised in recent times by Richard Lowry, who is in his own right a leading academic in the field of motivational psychology.

Each human being is motivated by needs. Our most basic needs are inborn, having evolved over tens of thousands of years. Abraham Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs helps to explain how these needs motivate us all.
Hierarchy of Needs - Physiological needs
These are the very basic needs such as air, water, food, sleep, sex, etc. When these are not satisfied we may feel sickness, irritation, pain, discomfort, etc. These feelings motivate us to alleviate them as soon as possible to establish homeostasis. Once they are alleviated, we may think about other things.

Hierarchy of Needs - Safety needs
These have to do with establishing stability and consistency in a chaotic world. These needs are mostly psychological in nature. We need the security of a home and family. However, if a family is dysfunction, i.e., an abusive husband, the wife cannot move to the next level because she is constantly concerned for her safety. Love and belongingness have to wait until she is no longer cringing in fear. Many in our society cry out for law and order because they do not feel safe enough to go for a walk in their neighborhood.

Hierarchy of Needs - Love and belongingness needs
These are next on the ladder. Humans have a desire to belong to groups: clubs, work groups, religious groups, family, gangs, etc. We need to feel loved (non-sexual) by others, to be accepted by others. Performers appreciate applause. We need to be needed.

Hierarchy of Needs - Self-Esteem needs
There are two types of esteem needs. First is self-esteem which results from competence or mastery of a task. Second, there's the attention and recognition that comes from others. This is similar to the belongingness level, however, wanting admiration has to do with the need for power.

Hierarchy of Needs - The need for self-actualization
This is "the desire to become more and more what one is, to become everything that one is capable of becoming." People who have everything can maximize their potential. They can seek knowledge, peace, esthetic experiences, self-fulfillment, oneness with God, etc.
It's a great things if we can follow to cover our needs step by step from bottom, so can learn what kind of life is.

So, where is your position in Maslow Theory?
If you plan on being anything less than you are capable of being, you will probably be unhappy all the days of your life. (Abraham Maslow)
Resources & more readings:


andry said...

on top. self actualization

kanaje smith said...

yall website is so bogish yall need to step up yoe game cause this ain't that and that ain't this
know dat

Agiex said...

Hmm, Maslow's huh? ;)
I was using this 'social engineering 'theory for years...believe me, it's dangerous..

Nitin Deshpande said...

Maslow was great. But it is always confusing to understand which need will come into force at what time.

pujo said...

dari 5 level yang ada kan sekarang ada penambahan baru, jadi 8 yaitu asertive, cognitive dan self transtendence. nah carikan dunk theory lengkapnya tentang ketiga itu plus kuestionernya untuk pendidikan.

john fields said...

I enjoyed verymuch finding your site. MR Maslow and coming to a better understanding,how to come grips with my inner self and actualiqations in this chaotic world.hope alls well thanking you.

Post a Comment